Comanche Municipal Court
101 East Grand - Comanche, TX 76442
ALL MUNICIPAL COURT CASES ARE RESCHEDULED FOR
THURSDAY, AUGUST 12, 2021
Business Hours Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm
COURT FINES AND FEES
EFFECTIVCE SEPTEMBER 1, 2019: In compliance with House Bill 2048 as it relates to the amount and allocation of state traffic fine funds, the Comanche Municipal Court will enforce a state traffic fine increase from $30 to $50 as stated in the Transportation Code. This will be in effect for moving violations issued on or after September 1st, 2019.
EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2020: In compliance with Sentate Bill 346 as it relates to the consolidation and allocation of state criminal court costs and increasing the amounts of certain court costs on all Class C Misdemeanor offenses, the Comanche Municipal Court will enforce a local consolidated fee of $14 on City Ordinances and State Law violations committeed on or after January 1, 2020.
DEFERRED DISPOSITION (PROBATION): Your request for Deferred Disposition MUST be received by the Court before your initial appearance date. Only certain violations will be eligible for Deferred Disposition, so you will need to contact the Court. Successful completion of the terms of the Deferred Disposition will result in the violation beging dismissed and not reported as a conviction to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
REQUEST FOR DRIVER SAFETY COURSE: You may be eligible to take a Driver Safety Course or Motorcycle Driving Safety Cource within 12 months preceding the date of the offense. Only certain violations will be eligible for Deferred Disposition, so you will need to contact the Court. Upon successful completion of all requirements, your violation will be dismissed and not reported as a conviction to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
You are eligible to request driving safety course if you:
-have a valid Texas Driver's License,
-auto insurance in your name,
-have not taken course in past 12 months,
-DO NOT hold a commercial driver's license,
-have not committed one of the following offenses:
(a) failure to give information at accident scene;
(b) leave scene of accident;
(c) passing school bus;
(d) a serious traffic violation;
(e) in construction zone with workers present;
(f) speeding 25 mph or over limit.
MINORS-JUVENILES: Municipal Court has jurisdiction over minors (age 17 or younger) charged with Class C misdemeanor offenses, Public Intoxication (age 17-20), Possess/Consume Alcohol (under age 21), and Possession of Tobacco (under age 18).
All juveniles must appear in person to the Court with a parent or legal guardian. A chaild and parent required to appear before the Court have an obligation to provide the Court the current address and residence of the child.
You MAY NOT use this service to resolve a violation for a person in jail.
Under our American system of justice, all persons are presumed to be innocent until proven guilty.
COURT APPEARANCES AND PLEAS
If you were issued a citation, you must make an appearance to determine your plea in person OR by mail within 10 calendar days of the date of the violation. A TELEPHONE CALL DOES NOT CONSTITUTE AN APPEARANCE!
PLEA OF NOT GUILTY- means that you deny guilt or that you have a defense in your case. You may hire an attorney or you many represent yourself. You are entitled to a jury trial. If you waive a trial by jury, the judge will hear your case.
PLEA OF GUILTY - means that you admit the act is prohibited by law, that you committed the act charged, and that you have no defense or excuse for your act.
PLEA OF NOLO CONTENDERE - means that you do not contest the State's charge against you. A plea of nolo contendere cannot be used against you in a civil suit.
IF YOU FAIL TO APPEAR EITHER IN PERSON OR VIA MAIL AS PROVIDED BY LAW, A WARRANT MAY BE ISSUED, AND YOU MAY NOT BE PERMITTED TO RENEW YOUR DRIVER'S LICENSE OR REGISTER YOUR VEHICLE IN THIS STATE.
COURT FINES AND FEES
Citations on warrants include appliable warrant fees and must be paid in full. No particial payments will be accepted.
The Court complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. If you require special services (sign interpretative services, alternative audio/visual devices, amanuenses) or if you do not speak or understand English and need an interpreter, please request this before your court date. To make arrangements, call 325-356-7129,
or TDD 1-800-RELAY,TX (1-800-735-2989).